Brill no-bake brownies

Sunday’s we’re made for cooking…apparently! I’m still working on the full meat, veg and all the (healthy!) trimmings but one of the reasons I love cooking on Sundays is the knowledge that no matter what the coming week throws at me I’ll have some treats to look forward to!

Speaking of treats today I made one of my all-time favourites, no-bake brownie bites. After finding the original recipe via the brilliant ‘Detoxinista’ blog (http://detoxinista.com/2014/06/raw-brownie-bites-vegan-paleo/) I’ve become a teeny bit obsessed with them! 10+ batches later and I’ve added a couple of my own additions to the recipe but whichever way you make them they are a healthy, delicious, incredibly easy-to-make chocolate treat!

IMG_20150125_161803

Recipe – The basics (makes 6-12 mini ones, as pictured, depending on which extras you add but split ’em any which way you want!)

1 cup of walnuts

1 cup of dates (I normally count out 11 or so for ease)

1/4 cup of cocoa (I prefer plain cocoa, my friend who has a sweeter tooth swears by Cadbury hot chocolate powder!)

1 tsp of vanilla extract

1 tsp of water

DSC_0182

The extras

For this version I used 1/4 cup of coconut flakes

1 tbsp of linseed (chia seed / flaxseed – it’s all the same!)

1/4 cup of sunflower seeds

Basically this recipe works so well with any variety of nut or seed – why not give it a go with raw cashews or peanuts, brazil nuts, raisins, sultanas or goji berries? Don’t forget to let me know how they turn out!

DSC_0186

Creating them

Whizz up the walnuts in a food processor to small pieces (5 or 6 pulses should do it)

Add the remaining ingredients and process for a minute or two until the mixture is sticky and combined. (For me this moment is when most of the mixture is stuck up against the side of the bowl!)

Then simply scoop out into the muffin cases and stick in the freezer for at least an hour and you’re done!

IMG_20150125_125445

Serve

These treats need no kind of accompaniment – they go straight from the freezer to my mouth!

They’re so rich I can never manage more than three per sitting and, if you can resist, they’re normally better after 24 hours of freezing. They should really be eaten within four days but good luck letting them last that long… 😉

Have your say...

